Review

Before You Break (Secrets #1) by K.C. Wells & Parker Williams | Review

before you break wells williamsFans of K.C. Wells and Parker Williams: rejoice! The dynamic duo’s latest release is also the beginning of a new series. It’s a spin-off of the Collars & Cuffs series and there were some familiar faces in this series debut.

Okay, so to be totally honest I haven’t actually read the Collars & Cuffs series. However, I’ve heard great things and do have it in my never-ending queue of books to read. I figured the beginning of a new series would be easier to jump into for now.

That being said, I’m probably one of the few people who didn’t enjoy how much time was dedicated to characters from the previous series. It isn’t like half the book or anything, but since I wasn’t emotionally invested in that couple I didn’t care about them beyond the fact that they were new owners of the club that Wayne belonged to. The reason for their involvement in the story became more apparent later on, but I didn’t care for the fact that Chapter One of Wayne and Ellis’s story began with a scene that didn’t involve either of them. *shrug* Maybe I’m just being nitpicky.

Other than that one sticking point (that really will only bother the few of us who haven’t read C&C), I enjoyed this book quite a bit. The depth of caring between Wayne and Ellis is heartwarming. I especially love BDSM books where one partner is learning about the lifestyle so it’s like I get to learn about for the first time all over again.

This book is a no-brainer for fans of Wells and Williams, but even for those of us who are new can enjoy Wayne and Ellis’s story.

This review is based on a review copy.

Rating: ★★★★

Blurb:

Six years ago Ellis walked into his first briefing as the newest member of London’s Specialist Firearms unit. He was partnered with Wayne and they became fast friends. When Wayne begins to notice changes—Ellis’s erratic temper, the effects of sleep deprivation—he knows he has to act before Ellis reaches his breaking point. He invites Ellis to the opening of the new BDSM club, Secrets, where Wayne has a membership. His purpose? He wants Ellis to glimpse the lifestyle before Wayne approaches him with a proposition. He wants to take Ellis in hand, to control his life because he wants his friend back, and he figures this is the only way to do it.

There are a few issues, however. Ellis is straight. Stubborn. And sexy. Wayne knows he has to put his own feelings aside to be what Ellis needs. What surprises the hell out of him is finding out what Ellis actually requires.

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: May 26, 2017
Length: 340 pages
Purchase: Amazon, DSP

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s