Review

Alpaca Lies by Elizabeth Coldwell | Review

alpaca-lies-elizabeth-coldwellAlpaca Lies by Elizabeth Coldwell fell short for me though there were some bright spots.

I really like shifter books where the shifter is something different (there are only so many times you can read about wolves, amirite?) so I jumped at the chance to read about a cute little alpaca shifter. And Alfie was super cute.

Some of the dialogue was awkward and clunky, and, other than Alfie, characters were two dimensional. I know it can be difficult to flesh people and events out in such a short story, but I was disappointed that I didn’t get more.

I was also a bit weirded out by how quickly Alfie and Simon had sex. It just didn’t work for me.

Alpaca Lies is part of Dreamspinner Press’s 2016 Daily Dose package “A Walk on the Wild Side.” I have a few more of these shorts on my Kindle so I’m hoping to find one that works for me a little better.

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★1/2

Blurb:

Alpaca shifter Alfie dreams of a life beyond the petting zoo at stately Mattock Hall. He can’t explore his crush on Simon Mattock, heir to the estate and caretaker to the animals, for two reasons. One, he’s never shifted into human form, and two, Simon is saddled with a boyfriend who’s exploiting him for his wealth. But when a fire threatens both the zoo and Simon, Alfie knows the time has come to put his fears aside, make his first shift, and save them. He just hopes Simon will like what he sees.

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: May 31, 2016
Length: 26 pages
Purchase: Amazon, DSP

Ciao, darlings.

 

Leave a Reply

