Random

Summertime fun with S’more Cupcakes | Blog Hop

Things Kiki Says...

Hi guys! I hope you all are staying cool in this crazy heat wave we’ve had going on. It’s been hot and humid here in Michigan. Yucky.

To celebrate Divine Magazine’s blog hop I decided I’d share one of my newest obsessions: S’more Cupcakes. Perfect for summer (or really any time you want a delicious treat).

I actually came up with this recipe by chance. My best friend–who decided that it was a good idea to move across the country from me but that’s beside the point–told me she was visiting and she was tired of only looking at pictures of the cupcakes I was making. She wanted her own. But she had some conditions: she wanted s’more cupcakes without marshmallows in it.

…yeah, you read that right. S’more cupcakes without marshmallows. Her exact words were: “I want essence of marshmallow.” Well, okay then. Challenge accepted.

After surfing some baking blogs, I found this recipe. The first batch I made were…less than ideal. They tasted okay, but they looked terrible. Pieces of the crusts had floated up into the cupcake and the meringue topping was overwhipped.

First attempt on the right, second on the left. See the much clearer line between crust and cake? Plus the topping is smoother and shinier.
First attempt on the right, second on the left. See the much clearer line between crust and cake? Plus the topping is smoother and shinier.

I knew I could do better.

So I made some adjustments–packed the crusts more tightly and baked them longer, plus I watched my meringue more carefully–and they came out beautifully the second time. But they can be tricky so don’t give up if they don’t come out perfectly for you your first try.

First attempt on the left, second on the right. You couldn't even see the crust on the first one! Looks so much better when you can.
First attempt on the left, second on the right. You couldn’t even see the crust on the first one! Looks so much better when you can.

I substituted my favorite chocolate cupcake recipe and you can too. Don’t be afraid to mix things up and personalize these delicious beauties any way you want.

Now, below you’ll find step-by-step instructions. Unfortunately, my plan to make these this weekend and photograph each step were thwarted by the humidity. You can’t whip meringue when it’s humid–you won’t get the peaks. It’ll just be a…blobby mess and you’ll probably end up overwhipping anyway in your attempt to get peaks.

If you have any questions about the recipe just leave a comment and I’ll do my best to answer. 🙂

Important: I’m sharing this recipe with you guys as part of Divine’s Summer Blog Hop. Each of the blogs listed at the bottom of this post will also have their own favorite summer activities, recipes, or tips so you should definitely check them out. Plus, there’s a really great giveaway with the blog hop that you can enter by following the link below.

XOXO Kiki

page break

S’more Cupcakes

Graham Cracker Crust

1 package of graham crackers
5 tablespoons of butter
5 tablespoons of sugar

Moist Chocolate Cupcakes

1½ cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup cocoa powder
1 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 cup warm coffee (freshly brewed)
1 Tbsp white vinegar
2 tsp vanilla extract
⅓ cup canola oil

Fluffy Marshmallow Topping

4 egg whites
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
graham cracker crumbs

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Line muffin tins with cupcake papers. (I’ve found that this recipe makes about 15-18 cupcakes.)
  2. Crush a package of graham crackers. (I find it’s easiest to put the crackers in a large ziplock bag, remove as much of the air as possible, and then roll over it with a rolling pin. If you have a food processor then you could use that instead.) Dump crumbs into a bowl.
  3. Melt the butter in the microwave, then add it and the sugar to the crushed graham crackers and mix it all together.
  4. Scoop the mixture into each liner and press down firmly. (I usually use about one heaping spoonful, but I really love the crust on this so that makes them thick. If you don’t want as much crust then don’t put as much in, but you’ll want to also reduce your crust bake time so you don’t burn them.) Set aside the rest of the mixture to use for decoration.
  5. Bake for 7-9 minutes. (The original recipe called for 7 minutes but I found that 9 worked better for me and my oven. It may take you a few attempts before you get the perfect crust on these, but that just means you get to eat more “errors”.)
  6. Remove the tins from the oven and allow to fully cool on a cooling rack while you prepare the cupcake batter.
  7. Turn the oven up to 350 degrees and brew your coffee. (I have used coffee that’s a few hours old–and by a few I mean six-eight because I don’t drink coffee so it was what was left by my family in the pot from the morning. Depending on your coffee and your taste buds, you may want to use fresh. I can’t taste the coffee in the baked cupcake but a friend of mine can so I’m more conscious of not using old, bitter coffee now.)
  8. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda and salt. (I put the dry ingredient mixture right into the bowl of my stand mixer with the whisk attachment on it. Then add the wet to that.)
  9. In a separate bowl, mix together the coffee, vinegar, vanilla extract and oil. (Use a metal bowl if you can–oil in plastic isn’t a good combination from the clean-up side of things.)
  10. Turn your mixer on low and then pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Whisk until they just come together and don’t over mix or whisk on high speed. (I usually stop the mixer, scrape the sides, then turn it back on for a couple final whisks.)
  11. Pour the batter over the cool crusts and fill the liners at least 2/3 of the way full. This batter doesn’t expand much for me so I fill 3/4.
  12. Bake 15-18 minutes on the center rack or until a toothpick comes out clean. (Watch your cupcakes. My oven is kind of a piece of crap and bakes unevenly so I turn the pans around at around the 9 or 10 minute mark. The thickness of your crusts will also affect the baking time: thicker crust=thinner cupcake=shorter baking time. Thinner crust=thicker cupcake=longer baking time. Got it?)
  13. Once they are done, take them out and let them cool in the pan for a few minutes and then remove them to cool completely on a rack. (Make sure your cupcakes are completely cool before you try and put the frosting on or it won’t hold its shape.)
  14. Combine the egg whites, sugar and cream of tartar into a metal, heat resistant mixing bowl. Place the bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. (I use the mixing bowl from my stand mixer so I don’t have to transfer the mixture afterward.)
  15. Whisk constantly until the sugar is dissolved and the whites are warm. This should only take 3-4 minutes, or less depending on how hot the water is. (Make sure you don’t overheat the mixture or you’ll end up cooking the eggs. Which is bad and will give you cooked egg chunks. Blech.)
  16. Remove from heat. Starting on low speed and gradually increasing to high, whisk mixture until stiff, glossy peaks begin to form. Watch your meringue closely because it is very easy to over whisk.
  17. Frost your cupcakes and top with remaining graham cracker mixture. (I use a piping coupler like this to pipe on the meringue. It gives me nice big swirls or a large dollop.)
  18. Eat and enjoy! 🙂

Let me know in the comments below if you try these cupcakes and how they work out for you or if you have any questions about the instructions.

page break

Blog Hop Hosts & Giveaway

To enter Divine’s fabulous giveaway head over here and leave a comment about your favorite summer recipe, activity, or memory. The grand prizes are awesome so you should definitely do that. 😉

For more summertime fun, check out the rest of the blogs participating in the hop:

SUMMER-BLOG-2016-BUTTON

Ciao, darlings.

4 thoughts on “Summertime fun with S’more Cupcakes | Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

