Review

Bankers’ Hours by Wade Kelly | Review

bankers' hours wade kellyBankers’ Hours by Wade Kelly was a breath of fresh air. I had a lot of fun getting to know Tristan and Grant. I really loved the fumbling of Grant and his many shows of eccentricity.

Grant was a whole new classification of character to me. I couldn’t believe he was a virgin at 25 AND had never been kissed. It was fun finding out why he had never made it to first base, but honestly it all seemed a bit forced. He also got puffed up and angry at the strangest times. It really did keep me on my toes throughout the book though!

As for Tristan, now he was a sweetheart. His character I liked the best. He mostly stayed consistent throughout the story and never seemed to confuse me with his reactions. I also loved his relationship with his daughter, but the baby mama drama was a little over the top. I did get the explanation that she finally snapped but it seems like there should have been more buildup.

I really enjoyed reading this fun book, but there was a such a buildup to the sex, seeing as Grant had waited 25 years for it, but when we get to it, well, it’s extremely glossed over and too quick. I didn’t get the connection with the act I was hoping for.

I gave this book 4 stars for the fresh storyline and the world build up. The characters were quirky and fun to get to know, and even the supporting characters were funny and added fresh dialogue. However, there were build ups that seemed to leave me hanging a bit too much. I do recommend this book to everyone who wants a happily ever after, and I really look forward to reading more by Wade Kelly!

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★★★

Blurb:

Even though bankers’ hours leave long weekends for romance, cosmic intervention is Grant’s only option when money doesn’t buy happiness and he’s got virginity in spades.

Grant Adams is a twenty-six-year-old bank teller who’s unlucky at love, yet hopelessly hopeful. After years of horrific first dates, he’s convinced he’s saving himself for true love. Surely he has bad taste in men because it couldn’t possibly be his persnickety nature that’s sent them packing.

Tristan Carr has been in a holding pattern since his daughter was born fifteen years ago, which suits his workaholic lifestyle just fine. This ex–naval officer turned auto mechanic never wanted anyone interfering with being a weekend dad. For Tristan to rearrange his carefully orchestrated life, a guy will need to be special. Or in the case of the newest employee at his bank, the guy will need to be adorable, shy, and open to the prospect of forever when it shows up at his window.

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: March 25, 2016
Length: 321
Purchase: Amazon, DSP, ARe

brandy's sig

Leave a Reply

