Review

Out in the Field by Kate McMurray | Review

out in the field kate mcmurrayI truly think Out In The Field by Kate McMurray is THE most powerful coming out book I have ever read. I was just in awe of the power that this has. It gripped me from the very beginning but halfway through was when it REALLY got good. Like mind-blowingly good.

Honestly, I have never given much thought to closeted athletes. I see how gay rights are slowly moving forward but because sports aren’t really my thing I had no reason to really think about it. Out In The Field has opened my eyes to gay athletes.

Now, I still don’t know much about it but reading about Matt and Iggy and their journey through years of hiding, conniving, and trying to make a relationship work, I really want to see more of this in the real world. Acceptance, not the closeted thing.

These two are amazingly well written characters. There are so many layers to them and the way they met, came together, and then stuck by each other was EPIC.

You really need to read this one because I was just blown away with it all. The writing, the world build up, the characters. Just everything in this book came together so beautifully and, honestly, 5 stars is just not enough to give in my opinion. I have already added most of Kate McMurray’s books to my TBR list because, if this one was so great, I can’t even imagine how awesome her others are as well. I really do love discovering new amazing authors!

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★★★★

Blurb:

Matt Blanco is a legend on the Brooklyn Eagles, but time and injuries have taken their toll. With his career nearing its end, he’s almost made it to retirement without anyone learning his biggest secret: he’s gay in a profession not particularly known for its tolerance.

Iggy Rodriquez is the hot new rookie in town, landing a position in the starting lineup of the team of his dreams and playing alongside his idol, Matt Blanco. Iggy doesn’t think it can get any better, until an unexpected encounter in the locker room with Matt proves him wrong.

A relationship—and everything it could reveal—has never been in the cards for Matt, but Iggy has him rethinking his priorities. They fall hard for each other, struggling to make it through trades, endorsement deals, and the threat of retirement. Ultimately they will be faced with a choice: love or baseball?

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: May 16, 2016
Length: 254 pages
Purchase: Amazon, Dreamspinner, ARe

Leave a Reply

