Review

Fangs Like Me by Lyssa Dering | Review

fangs like me lyssa deringI got the pleasure of plunging into a new to me authors world of Fangs Like Me by Lyssa Dering. I was in awe of her ability to build a world of darkness where the paranormal MC’s lived. There was a grittiness to her descriptions that really appealed to me.

The only thing that concerned me was that I was unable to really grasp where exactly this book took place. Because I know what Euchre is, thanks to my husband being from Michigan, I kind of figured that it took place in a city in Michigan. If the author had mentioned which city it was too fleeting for my mind to actually grasp.

I really loved the characters in this book. Parker, who is a werewolf, was a really strong character. He is an alpha wolf who came out to his parents and is living on his own and meets the vampirebaby Lane. Automatically, he is drawn to Lane and his aura of sadness. I really liked that about Parker.

Lane, was not my favorite character, but I still have a soft spot for him. The way that he found eternal life was horrifying and I am really glad that his Master found him and saved him. However, I felt Lane was overly dramatic, and extra angsty. Although, if you think about it, perhaps that’s just the way babyvamps are their first few hundreds years after being changed.

All together, this book was fun to read and had me hoping for a sequel! The world build up is fantastic and the MCs, as well as the supporting characters, were wonderfully colorful. I gave this a 4 star as a few things within the story got a bit muddled and I had to reread a few bits to figure out what was trying to come across. Ultimately, I enjoyed getting to know Lane and Parker and look forward to more from Lyssa Dering! Highly recommend to fans of the paranormal genre!

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★★★

Blurb:

A babyvamp with a death wish and a werewolf who doesn’t fit in…

Lane might be young, but he’s not like those rebellious teenager types, acting out against their Makers. Except Lane’s Maker has recently departed for a year-long trip overseas without him, and the separation hurts like nothing else. At a shifter party, a werewolf tries to console him, but their aborted hookup just seems to make things worse.

Parker has recently dumped his mate. Being more interested in men than women, he’s not cut out for mating, or at least not for making pups. At one of his new roommate’s shifter parties, he meets an adorable vampire, but he manages to screw that up just like everything else.

More run-ins lead to something almost tangible between them. But Lane’s vampire elders aren’t exactly fond of shifters, and Parker’s not that great at opening up. When one party turns bloody, Lane does what he always does—he runs. But Parker’s wolf wants Lane, and Lane has a weakness for Parker’s shifter blood.

Can Parker and Lane tackle their respective pasts and give the thing growing between them a chance? Or will the very real possibilities of heartache, abandonment, and even death, keep them apart?

Release Date: March 21, 2016
Length: 150 pages
Purchase: Amazon (KU)

Leave a Reply

