Review

6 Days to Valentine by LE Franks | Review

6 days to valentine le franks6 Days to Valentine by LE Franks was a cute story with some interesting quirks. I’m not sure what the series is called, but I know that there is a full-length follow-up to this novella that I’ll be reading next.

I really liked all of the secondary characters in this short story. Nick’s co-workers, boss, and regulars provide depth and humor.

Davis “Fatboy” Newman was also a really interesting character. I didn’t get to know him as much as I would have liked in this story but I’m hoping I’ll get more about/from him in the next book.

The beginning confused me a bit, I do have to say. The timeline, the characters–I wasn’t sure what was going on for the first ten to fifteen percent.

After that, I kept thinking: why is this Cameron guy playing such a large part? It was a bit weird, because with shorter stories like this you expect the majority of the focus to be on the main couple.

I was also disappointed that Nick and Davis’ day together–where they really connected and got to know each other–was glossed over so much. Instead, I got to read about Nick getting off with some other dude. Not cool.

While not everything I was looking for, Nick and Davis are sweet and adorable together. I liked the characters enough that I will definitely be reading the next book, 6 Days to Get Lucky.

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★

Blurb:

In Nick’s perfect world, Valentine’s Day would be struck from the calendar.

Nick’s dreams of a Happily Ever After were shredded long ago and the last thing he and his customers need is a bunch of happy loving couples rubbing it in their faces.

Bouncer Fat Boy Newman is willing to bet he knows Nick’s heart better than he does. He has just six days to change Nick’s mind about romance and the holiday and the perfect man to do it.

Too bad it’s not him.

Too bad Nick’s not going down without a fight.

Too bad he cheats.

Publisher: Wilde City Press
Release Date: February 4, 2014
Length: 72 pages
Purchase: Amazon, ARe

Ciao, darlings.

Leave a Reply

