Review

Pawsitively in Love by M.J. O’Shea | Review

Pawsitively In Love M.J. O'SheaPawsitively in Love by M.J. O’Shea swept me up in it’s adorableness! I love books with pets, so I was super pumped to read this story.

First, the dogs. Seriously, Evan’s little pug puppy was maybe my favorite part because he sounded so fricken cute I wanted to squeeze my kindle like I’d squeeze him. (I experience cute aggression, haha.) Maggie, Austin’s dog, was so sweet too. The two of them together nearly did me in.

Anywho, so obviously I loved the dogs.

I also adored all of the relationships in this book. Austin with his family and friends, and Evan with his neighbors. Heck, even Evan’s relationship with his sister was fascinating.

Having good, strong secondary characters that add to a story without overpowering things is important, in my opinion. Austin’s friends and sister were great additions. They counterbalance Austin’s feelings of inferiority and help build him up without being annoying about it.

Peggy, Evan’s neighbor, is funny as hell and I loved her. Evan didn’t have a great family life growing up, nor any real friends, so for him to be so easily accepted by Peggy and her family is a big deal for him. They give him the stability he’s never had before.

Evan and Austin together are adorbs. After some awkward (but hilarious) false starts, they finally start spending time together. They try to just be friends but there’s just too much attraction between them. Once they accept that–whoo boy, fireworks. 😉

My only complaint was that the ending felt so rushed. After everything that happened, I wanted more resolution. I put up with these two dummies being dumb, so I wanted a more satisfying conclusion.

Otherwise, I really enjoyed Pawsitively in Love. Austin and Evan were dynamic and complex characters. They had realistic friends, family, and problems. I would definitely read more books from M.J. O’Shea.

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★★

Blurb:

What Austin Lloyd lacks in academics, he makes up for in his love of the animals who frequent his pet salon. He’s not lucky in romance, though, and his family would like him to settle down with a good man. Austin—and his golden retriever, Maggie—couldn’t agree more.

Evan Partridge isn’t good at letting people in. His messy family life and the past that’s shaped him aren’t worth bringing up. But his pug, Dexter, sure likes the pet salon owner.

Austin and Evan get off to a rough start, but being friends soon turns into something more. Unfortunately, Evan’s secretive behavior nearly does the relationship in, and the budding love affair almost crashes and burns when Evan’s troubled sister shows up on his doorstep.

Not speaking to each other is killing them both, but Evan doesn’t know how to keep Austin and help his sister at the same time. He just knows he has to try. Winning back Austin’s trust back, however, is going to take a whole lot of work.

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: March 4, 2016
Length: 198 pages
Purchase: Amazon, ARe, Dreamspinner (on sale at DSP at time of posting)

Ciao, darlings.

Leave a Reply

