Review

As the Leaves Fall (Love for the Seasons #1) by RJ Jones | Review

as the leaves fall rj jonesAs the Leaves Fall by RJ Jones was, in some ways, exactly what I expected and, in others, a bit of a surprise. It’s the first in Jones’s Love for the Seasons series.

The beginning felt a bit off for me. I liked both Aiden and Noah, but I felt like the chemistry between them was forced. I kept reading how there was this instant connection/spark between them that they both couldn’t resist but it didn’t seem organic to the characters.

Aiden’s mood swings drove me crazy, but they drove Noah batty too so that made me feel better.

Honestly, it was only my faith in the author and her writing ability that kept me reading in the beginning. Once things started flowing and I got past the manufactured chemistry, I did enjoy getting to know Aiden and Noah.

Marcus (a co-worker) was a bit ridiculous. He was annoying and childish and I couldn’t understand how he worked for such a prestige architecture firm. However, a breadcrumb was dropped about him at the end that makes me less apprehensive about reading the next book in the series (his book).

Things went from “we can’t ever date” to “let’s have it all” very quickly. Once that switch was flipped, though, I really dug the vibe between Aiden and Noah. They stopped internally monologueing at me and started talking to each.

Too much introspection slows things down, so the second half flowed much better for me.

I adored Noah’s relationship with his mother. It was so sweet how he visited her so often and played bingo.

I can’t say this was a perfect book for me, but there were parts I really liked. The bathtub scene was sexy and intimate. I loved how Aiden had grown so much that he wasn’t just making unilateral decisions about the two of them anymore. He and Noah communicated very well (once they actually started talking about their feelings) and I think communication is hot.

It’s a weird kink, I know.

As the Leaves Fall didn’t pull off the insta-lust component for me and that really caused the beginning to stall out for me. Further into the story, as things were flowing better, I started caring about Noah and Aiden’s relationship. They were so sweet together once they got their heads out of their asses.

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★★

Blurb:

The perfect job or the perfect man. Surely Aiden and Noah can have both, right? 

Aiden Turner’s world flipped upside down when his vengeful ex-boyfriend destroyed a major project, costing his uncle’s architectural firm an important client. Feeling guilty, Aiden has since sworn off all romantic involvement with anyone he works with.

Noah Walker is getting ready to interview for his dream role when he catches Aiden’s eye on the London Tube. They strike up a conversation, and even though the attraction sizzles between them, Noah must decline the offer of a morning coffee. The interview is crucial, and he needs to focus on getting the job, not getting a date.

When Aiden discovers the enigmatic man on the train is the same man he is interviewing, he is torn. But he knows Noah is the right man for the job, and he attempts to put some professional distance between them. However, it’s not long before Noah makes his way under Aiden’s skin.

Neither man can afford to risk their employment, but keeping their relationship a secret takes its toll. When things get ugly, they need to decide what’s more important—or if the job is worth the sacrifice.

Publisher: Vivid Blue Press
Release Date: March 18, 2016
Length: 129 pages
Purchase: Amazon, ARe

Ciao, darlings.

Leave a Reply

