Promos

Speakeasy by Suzey Ingold | Blog Tour & Interview

speakeasy suzey ingoldIn the height of the Prohibition era, recent Yale graduate Heath Johnson falls for Art, the proprietor of a unique speakeasy tucked away beneath the streets of Manhattan where men are free to explore their sexuality.

When Art’s sanctuary is raided, Heath is forced to choose between love and the structured life his parents planned for him.

Excerpt

Heath swallows, playing over an idea that had formed shakily in his head after he saw Frankie, since Art walked through that door and possibly longer without him being fully conscious of it. “Maybe it’s time I was honest. Tell them that I don’t want to marry Ginny or work with my father. Let the pieces fall where they may.”

“You would do that?”

“If it meant being with you, I would do anything.” Heath sits up and the sheets fall to pool around his waist. “I know what I want, now. And it’s you and whatever a future with you brings.”

Release Date: February 18, 2016
Cover Artist: Colin Moore & C.B. Messer
Publisher: Interlude Press
Length: 244 pages
Purchase: Amazon, Interlude, ARe, B&N, Smashwords

Interview with Suzey

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing Suzey Ingold, author of Speakeasy. Hi Suzey, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself, your background, and your current book.

Thank you for having me! I’m a writer and linguistics student, currently based in Edinburgh. I’ve been writing for years and had my first short story, The Willow Weeps for Us, published in 2015, in the Summer Love anthology from Duet Books. Speakeasy is about a recent Yale graduate who must discover what he really wants when he meets the owner of a unique Midtown speakeasy in 1920s Manhattan.

What’s the best line you ever wrote?

At least right now, I’d say this line from Speakeasy:

Even in surroundings so beautiful, the rest of the world seems to fall away at the edges, pale in comparison to the touch of Art’s lips against his.

It’s a very poignant moment in the book and one I had planned out right from the start. I was so excited when I got to writing that scene and I’d been working on the book long enough at that point to feel like I had a strong connection with my characters and their relationship with one another.

Do you listen to music while writing? If so, what kind?

Not always but I often do! If I’m working in a coffee shop, I might just listen to whatever’s playing so that I can use the background noise of people around me as part of my soundtrack. But a lot of the time I’ll bring headphones even then. I’m a big fan of finding playlists, on Spotify and 8tracks for example, so that I get a bit of a mix of things on a theme. Otherwise, I find that by the time I’m finished a writing project, I’ve completely exhausted my iTunes selection!

For Speakeasy, I listened to quite a lot of jazz and swing, but not necessarily all stuff from as far back as the 1920s. I love electroswing—Caravan Palace was on the go quite a lot while writing this book.

If your book were made into a movie, what actors would you like to see star?

This is my absolute favourite question because I love movies so I have a (albeit incomplete) dream cast all ready to go! Heath would be played by Jack Falahee; Art by Sebastian Stan; and Frankie by Armie Hammer. I’m ready whenever they are.

What genres do you write in?

So far I exclusively write romance and recently I’ve been particularly writing historical romance, although I do have some plans to do some more contemporary things in the future. That’s not to say I won’t branch out—I’d love to explore some other genres and set myself a new challenge!

Where and when do you prefer to write?

I typically write better if I’m not at home—it’s amazing the methods of procrastination I can find if I’m in my flat or, worse still, I just won’t get out of bed. Coffee shops have a good level of bustle for me and are in abundance around where I live (to the chagrin of my bank account) or otherwise I might go to my university’s campus if I can get a seat.

The middle of the day is my most productive time, between around midday and three. I like to have a slow morning and get up leisurely and then I tend to hit a slump come early evening. Sometimes I’ll have another burst of creativity and energy later into the night but it varies.

Thanks for chatting with me, Suzey! Enjoy the rest of your tour!

Meet the Author

Suzey Ingold is a writer, linguist and coffee addict, currently based in Edinburgh, Scotland. Brought up in a household where children’s books are quoted over the dinner table, literature has always had a strong influence on her life. She enjoys traveling, scented candles and brunch. Her short story, “The Willow Weeps for Us,” was included in “Summer Love: An LGBTQ Collection,” published by Duet, an imprint of Interlude Press (2015).

You can find Suzey on…

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Giveaway

$25 IP Web Store Gift Card Grand Prize + 5 eBook editions of Speakeasy to randomly-drawn winners

Rafflecopter Giveaway

Tour Dates & Stops

18-Feb

Elisa – My Reviews and Ramblings, Love Bytes, Kirsty Loves Books, Hearts on Fire

19-Feb

Prism Book Alliance, Sinfully Addicted to All Male Romance, Nephy Hart, Kiki’s Kinky Picks, Inked Rainbow Reads

22-Feb

Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents, 3 Chicks After Dark, Two Chicks Obsessed With Books and Eye Candy, Book Reviews and More by Kathy

23-Feb

Unquietly Me, My Fiction Nook, Havan Fellows, The Hat Party

24-Feb

Dawn’s Reading Nook, Divine Magazine, Bayou Book Junkie

25-Feb

V’s Reads, Lee Brazil, MM Good Book Reviews

26-Feb

A.M. Leibowitz, Boys on the Brink Reviews

28-Feb

Molly Lolly, Jessie G. Books

29-Feb

Happily Ever Chapter, BFD Book Blog

1-Mar

Three Books Over The Rainbow, Up All Night, Read All Day

2-Mar

Wicked Faerie’s Tales and Reviews, Alpha Book Club, Cathy Brockman Romances

Ciao, darlings.

2 thoughts on “Speakeasy by Suzey Ingold | Blog Tour & Interview

Leave a Reply

