Review

Assassin’s Kiss (Watcher’s Kiss #2) by Sharon Kay | Review

Assassin's Kiss by Sharon KayAssassin’s Kiss by Sharon Kay was a solid book with well-developed characters and an interesting plot. It’s the second book in the Watcher’s Kiss series but can be read as a standalone. (I haven’t read the first book yet, and I had zero problems with reading this one.)

Scorpio is the most badass of badasses. But he isn’t just some cold-blooded killer and I think Sharon did a really great job portraying this. Everyone perceives him as one thing, but underneath the stoicism is someone who cares deeply for others.

There was a really interesting combination of old and modern in this book. The village Tessa and her coven live in comes across as very rustic. There are no cars or television and everyone carries knives or swords, yet everyone has a cell phone. It took a bit of getting used to.

Everything from the dire wolves to the portals were described well. Sharon has built an intricate world with this series. When I can really immerse myself into a book world, especially a fantasy or sci-fi, I can enjoy it so much more.

Whysper was my favorite character and I love that she called the Watchers ‘the boys.‘ I liked that old, powerful witches were like celebrities. That made me chuckle.

I really appreciated that Scorpio wasn’t intimidated by Tessa’s power. She’s a powerful leader in her coven with a much-coveted ability and Scorpio is nothing but impressed and supportive.

The bad guy, Damien, was a bit over-the-top evil for me. After the way he was described and feared by everyone, I was expecting Darth Vadar not Gachnar.

I really enjoyed Assassin’s Kiss. It was an interesting story that fell outside my usual genre but I still found it fascinating and engaging. I can’t wait to read the first book and I plan on following this series in the future.

Copy provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★★

Blurb:

Warrior Scorpio finds himself alone on a botched op. No weapons, no communication devices, injured…and instantly recognized by a group of witches who want him dead.

Witch Tessa promises to marry a rival leader to save her people. But she never planned on the new prisoner in her coven. Scorpio, a rough, former mercenary makes the outrageous claim that she belongs to him.

Even from behind bars, the longer Scorpio stays, the more he unsettles Tessa and she questions all she thought she knew. Choosing him will put everyone she cares for at risk. He’s nothing like she expected, and the last thing she could dare to want.

Publisher: Self
Release Date: January 12, 2016
Length: 302 pages
Purchase: Amazon, ARe, B&N, Kobo, iBooks

Ciao, darlings.

One thought on “Assassin’s Kiss (Watcher’s Kiss #2) by Sharon Kay | Review

Leave a Reply

