Review

The 51st Thursday by Mercy Celeste | Review

51st thursdayIt’s amazing how much angst Mercy Celeste managed to stuff into the novella, The 51st Thursday. It’s only 54 pages, but that was enough to give me some serious feels.

Generally, I avoid novellas. I almost always want more. More character development, more plot, just…more. However, I kept hearing about Mercy’s short and how great it was. So I thought: what the heck?

I’m so glad I listened to everyone who recommended The 51st Thursday!

Deacon was dirty, dirty, dirty.

Deacon was dirty, dirty, dirty. And I looooved it. Seriously, the dirty talk was off the charts and that’s one of my favorite things because so many people don’t do it well. Mercy hits it out of the park. Kudos, babe.

With a story this short, Deacon and Shelby jumped into bed fairly quickly (well, actually not a bed at first 😉 ).  However, it didn’t feel rushed or out of character to me because these characters had been slowly learning about each other each week for the last year.

Shelby, aka Thursday, was a really intriguing character. He was so damaged, and very conflicted, and yet he was the one who kept coming back to Deacon’s bar. He had a hard time even admitting he wanted Deacon and then he was forced to figure out how to wrap his head around his sexuality once he was staring at the naked man he had just had sex with.

There was so much characterization packed into this story. There was all kinds of shit that Shelby had to deal with with his family and then there was Deacon’s family. The emotional (and physical) distance between Deacon and his immediate family was weird to me but it worked for the character for the most part.

I did have one issue and that was with the Rachel character. Ummm, what the hell? She came out of nowhere and then she was the one making big emotional reveals toward the end of the story. I was so confused and just couldn’t quit asking myself who this woman was and why was she butting into Deacon and Shelby’s moment. (And was she a prostitute, because seriously, what the hell?)

The epilogue was really nice though. It smoothed out my ruffled feathers and made sure that at the end of the day this was a novella that I really liked and enjoyed. It effectively removed the bad taste Rachel had left in my mouth.

The 51st Thursday by Mercy Celeste was short but far from sweet (okay there were a few sweet parts). However, Deacon and Shelby definitely steamed up my Kindle with their smoking hot lovin’. I am very glad I finally got around to reading this one.

Rating: ★★★★

Blurb:

Shelby Bainbridge, former championship winning quarterback and son of an Alabama Senator with presidential aspirations, lost everything one Thursday night fifty-two weeks ago. Lost, alone, battered, and broken Shelby finds comfort in the local bar called Deacon’s Place. Week after week, he finds himself drawn to Deacon’s for the beer, for the atmosphere, for the solace and for Deacon himself.

Deacon can no longer deny the desire he feels for the man he calls Thursday. When Deacon wants something Deacon is a hard man to resist. The problem is, Deacon never planned to lose his heart. Especially to a man who could be destroyed by an unexpected night of forbidden passion.

Release Date: January 25, 2012
Length: 54 pages
Purchase: Amazon

Ciao, darlings. (2)

Leave a Reply

