Review

The Half of Us by Cardeno C. | Review

the half of us coverThe Half of Us by Cardeno C. started off as a book I thought I would probably enjoy. It ended as one of my favorite books of the year. It’s the fourth in her Family series, so you can be sure I’ll be checking into the rest. For reals.

I read romances for the escapism. I think that’s why many of us read them. While some prefer their escapism to be chocked-full of angst, I prefer sweetness, fluff, and dirty hot sex. What can I say? I’m a simple girl at heart.

The Half of Us had everything I love in spades. Dear Lord, the sex! Jason and Abe were perfectly matched. Their chemistry was off the charts and had me reaching for my glass of ice water more than once.

I really liked both MCs but I adored Abe. He was so sweet and patient but when he thought that Jason was still married he was strong enough to put his foot down. Which reminds me–I really appreciated that this misunderstanding wasn’t drawn out to create excessive conflict or heartache. I hate when that happens.

one of my favorite books of the year

There are some hiccups along the road, of course. Completely smooth sailing would be boring! But nothing was over-the-top and all the reactions were kept within character. Jason didn’t miraculously stop being a bit of an ass, but he learned to trust in Abe and be there for him.

I really enjoyed Jason’s ex-wife too. She could have been written as this angry/bitter woman who saw Jason coming out after they had been together for so long as a betrayal. Instead, she’s a compassionate, no-nonsense, single mother who has tried to stay friends with her ex even though he can be a giant butthead.

Jason’s kids were also really well written. They didn’t play a very big part in the book until the second half but they are done realistically. Teenagers can be awful at times and I’m glad Cardeno wasn’t afraid to go there with at least one of them. And having their dad around more didn’t magically fix their damaged relationships.

The one main thing I took away from this book was this: CC did a fantastic job of writing realistic characters who fell in love (one without really realizing it). Jason learned to accept himself, his family baggage, and his dreams of a family with a partner to share his life. While Abe learned that sometimes you have to be willing to take chances and do something you wouldn’t normally.

Copy provided through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: ★★★★★

Blurb:

Short-tempered, arrogant heart surgeon Jason Garcia grew up wanting a close-knit family, but believes he ruined those dreams when he broke up his marriage. The benefit of divorce is having as much random sex as he wants, and it’s a benefit Jason is exploiting when he meets a sweet, shy man at a bar and convinces him to go home for a no-strings -attached night of fun.

Eight years living in Las Vegas hasn’t dimmed Abe Green’s optimism, earnestness, or desire to find the one. When a sexy man with lonely eyes propositions him, Abe decides to give himself a birthday present—one night of spontaneous fun with no thoughts of the future. But one night turns into two and then three, and Abe realizes his heart is involved.

For the first time, Abe feels safe enough with someone he respects and adores to let go of his inhibitions in the bedroom. If Jason can get past his own inhibitions and open his heart and his life to Abe, he might finally find the family he craves.

Release Date: October 13, 2015
Length: 224 pages
Purchase: Amazon, ARe, B&N, iBook, Kobo, Smashwords

Ciao, darlings. (2)

Leave a Reply

